top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Fortman

Bienvenido!

Hello all and welcome to my very first blog post! During the next 16 weeks I will be studying here in Sevilla, Spain at the Universidad de Pablo Olvide. I will try to keep everyone updated on all of my adventures here on the blog. This semester is an amazing experience and I am very excited to see what Spain has in store for me!



Studying abroad was something I decided to do long before college. I remember looking at study abroad programs before I was even accepted into ISU. After going through my first two years at Iowa State and adding my second major of Global Resource Systems I knew studying abroad was an absolute must. As I began looking for a program last Fall I picked out programs all the way from Ecuador to Ireland. I remember making an hour long PowerPoint presentation to go through all the option with my parents (Mom and Dad thanks for the patience).


After much debate and eventually a very firm kick in the butt to get an application in, I ended up here in Sevilla and I could not be happier with my choice! Here are the top five things I am most excited for during this semester:


1. All of the tapas!!

If you done know what tapas are they are very similar to ordering appetizers but in Spain in it very common to just order a bunch of tapas and a drink for dinner instead of having a big meal. They are a must for any foodie like me!


2. Siestas

I am a very big enthusiast of napping, so any culture that embraces taking a break during the day to have a nap is definitely a fit for me.


3. The culture and history

Sevilla and Spain as a whole are very rich in culture and history which can be seen through the different monuments and architecture. Everything from the Gothic cathedrals to the beautiful palaces are on my bucket list to visit.


4. Traveling through Europe

I mean I am already this close so why not. I am hoping to get to a few different countries this semester including: France, Italy, Portugal, Germany, Greece, and possibly Ireland!


5. Practicing Spanish

One of the main reasons I decided to study abroad in Spain was the opportunity to practice Spanish and better my skills. So here is to trying and not getting too lost along the way!


So, come along as I try to survive my fall semester in Sevilla (otherwise known as the hottest city in Europe (gulp)). This blog will be a great way to keep up with all my fun, surprising, and probably at times embarrassing adventure here in Spain.


Until next time, Adios.

-Amanda

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page