top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Fortman

Flying Solo in Ireland!


Another week and another destination in the books! After a busy and project filled week I got to check off another bucket list item (much to my mother's demise)! I took my very first solo trip to the beautiful Emerald Isle! Dublin was truly an amazing experience and I can say I officially planned and survived my first trip by myself!


Before I studied abroad the biggest piece of advice I was given was to do a solo trip! Throughout the beginning of the school year I thought about it but never set anything into stone. But the idea of going to Ireland stayed a goal of mine and one day I just booked it! And honestly I had never been more nervous. Thoughts of what would I do, who would I talk to, and how ever would I have fun ran through my head. But as the trip drew closer I threw together some plans and put on my big girl pants and flew to Ireland!


Friday I spent wondering around Dublin, saw St. Patrick's Cathedral, and went to the Guinness Storehouse. This seven story museum showed the history of the Guinness brand and had really cool interactive experiences. I learned how to taste Guinness and even how to pour my own glass!

Afterwards I ate dinner at the oldest pub in Ireland the Brazen Head (est. 1198). My first day in Dublin was a success and I headed back to my first hostel experience in Europe (there is something about sharing a room with five other strangers that makes you thankful for your own room at home lol).

The next day I started early and met some girls at breakfast. We decided to do a walking tour of the city together. Our tour guide was fantastic and kept us warm with laughter as we walked around on a rather chilly day. We saw all the major stops in the city including the castle, Christ Church, Temple Bar, and Molly Moe statue. The two girl I met and I grabbed lunch (where I finally got wings and cider!) Afterwards I headed to do the Dublin Castle and another museum. I then spent the night going to some pubs and listening to the live music. The pub life is definitely my favorite vibe!

Sunday I decided to get out of Dublin and visit the Cliffs of Moher on a bus tour. We started the day off at an abandoned monastery, Kilmacdaugh. We then finally made it to the Cliffs of Moher and I did some exploring! It was absolutely freezing and after taking in all of the beauty and photos, I couldn't feel my hands or my face anymore! However, it was amazing and so very beautiful! We went to another spot the was coined "the Mini Cliffs". Finally we stopped in Galaway for some shopping and a quick Irish coffee. When we got back to Dublin I finally got my fish and chips and the most amazing bread and butter pudding!

Monday was a quick day before I flew out. I went to Trinity College and went to the library long room and saw the Book of Kells. I absolutely loved it! If you know how much I love books then you would understand how much I enjoyed this. It had the most amazing book smell and I felt like Belle in Beauty in the Beast. I then ended my trip with a quick coffee and headed to the airport.

I was so happy I did a solo trip especially to a place as cool as Ireland! I met some amazing people and saw some cool places. But it was even more than that. It felt very freeing to be able to plan and carry out my own trip and know I can do almost everything on my own! 10/10 recommend for everyone!


Until next time, Adios!

-Amanda Fortman

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page